Day 28 – sleep aids

I haven’t been getting very much sleep over the last 3-4 days. I would say about 1-2.5 hours each night and waking up to an intense itch. Was introduced to sleeping pills last night. Had one pill at 50mg (Equate from Walmart) and it knocked me out for a good 10 hours without waking up. Good times. Note: I tried Benadryl 2x25mg pills and it did nothing for me. Going to try the sleeping pills again tonight. I don’t like the thought of using it every night but if it gives me some sleep then I’ll do whatever it takes. Noticed much drier skin this morning too. Looked up the potential side effects of sleeping pills and it states itchy and dry skin as one of the plethora of side effects. I guess the dry skin is a common issue… but I got 10 hours of sleep!

6 thoughts on “Day 28 – sleep aids

  1. Hi Kay,
    Do you feel drowsy the day after taking sleeping pills? I’m almost 4 months in and I still can’t sleep properly!

  2. Hi Mariella,
    I don’t feel drowsy after taking Equate or Benadryl. The first night I had Equate I slept for 10hrs and woke up feeling a bit sleepy but that feeling subsided within 30 mins. I think my body was just adjusting to getting sleep again! I tried Equate again last night and slept for 8 hours. Not bad. How many hours of sleep do you get daily? I know it isn’t healthy to take the pills every night but 1-2 hours of sleep everyday just sucks!

    1. 8 hours would be amazing! I get 5 hours most of the time, sometimes 6 if it’s a good night haha. Mind you, it’s a lot better than it was in the beginning. The most annoying thing is that I sometimes can’t fall asleep until 6 am, even though I’m super tired. Then I end up sleeping through the day, and that’s no fun 😦 If my sleep doesn’t change by the end of this year, I’ll probably start taking sleeping pills

      1. How much sleep were you getting in the beginning?
        I also sleep throughout the day. I find I can’t sleep from 1-6am… which really sucks.
        You should try the sleeping pills. They do wonders! I’m thinking of taking one once a week. Don’t want to overdo it!
        Hope you had an itch-free day!! = )

      2. I used to get 4 hours of sleep. Then I would have to get up and moisturize because my skin would get so dry. So it’s gotten better. The improvements are just extremely minimal haha. I’m just going to try to slowly adjust my sleep schedule by waking up 30 minutes earlier, and going to sleep 30 minutes earlier. Hopefully that’ll work. And my itch is mostly gone! 😀 I hope you have an itch-free day too!

Leave a Reply

