Day 78 – out and about

I have been quite the busy bee as of late. Out experiencing the world just like the good ol’ days.

My acupuncturist initially predicted that I would function more like a ‘normal’ person come the end of November or early December. She has kept her word. Words can’t describe how happy I am. Seriously.

Blood circulation is functioning quite well. The top half of my body no longer feels hot and the bottom half no longer feels cold. My feet are constantly warm and I know longer itch during the day. It only really itches when I wake up from sleeping. Just for the record, I still wake up to an itch every night but it is no longer that intense, sharp itchy feeling. I’ve logged 6 hours of sleep without waking up over the last little while. This is compared to waking up 2-3 hours every day and sitting around, scratching and ‘meditating’ for 1-1.5 hours.

Cold compresses can now contain the itch and I no longer feel like scratching till I bleed. I just came out of a 10-14 day flare. It was NOTHING compared to the first two flares I experienced. It doesn’t even come close. It was just standard. I don’t know whether or not I have gotten used to the intensity of flares OR it just wasn’t that intense in the first place. Either way, I’m pleased with how things are going. Don’t get me wrong, I want this gone as soon as possible but we all know that this is a long, slow and rather torturous journey.

On a side note: I will be starting FT work again in approximately 8.5 hours. I have been out of work since September 10th. In case you missed my ‘Day 30’ post, I was initially offered a paid internship this semester but was forced to give it up to fight this monster. To be totally honest, I’ve acquainted myself with the bumming at home type of lifestyle. Kinda sad I won’t be able to laze around the house anymore… but this really means I’m making progress (and $$!) I know it will be a challenge since I still itch and I don’t know how my body will react to a sudden change in environment and ‘real’ clothing such as business attire. (During the first 30-40 days, the rashes and blisters made things so uncomfortable I literally had sheets of fabric draped over me and over the last 30+ days I’ve worn sweatpants and this white polar fleece unicorn onesie… LOL).

I’m excited but also nervous. What if I can’t handle the workload or I get so much stress it makes my TSW symptoms even worse? Whatever. There is this saying that goes something like, ‘I’ll eat it when it comes my way.’ Besides, if I can endure the first few weeks of TSW, I’m sure this is not a big deal. We’ll see how things go.

Leave a Reply

