Day 220 – chocolate will be the death of me

I got out of the ‘mini flare’ (Day 201) on Apr 20th. Things were good until Apr 22nd and I did something stupid. I ate a ton of chocolate on the 23rd. How much you ask? Almost half a bag of Chipits. #epicfail
This is what happens when you’re a bit better and assume you’re on top of the world and can do whatever you want.

Woke up on the 24th and both my cheeks were red. Clear ooze on my left cheek and my left arm flexor was itching like crazy at lunch. Messed up again. I regret this one but I was really craving chocolate and couldn’t control myself.

This has also led me to believe that food plays a huge difference in flare ups. I didn’t do anything differently but eat a copious amount of chocolate and I’m sorta flaring again.

THINGS TO KNOW:

  • Chocolate is a highly thermal food and makes blood circulate much faster. Too much is unsuitable for ‘hot body temperatured’ people like me.
  • Want your skin to look healthy/radiant? Cut down on your sugar intake (TCM)

To eat or not to eat? The choice is yours.

4 thoughts on “Day 220 – chocolate will be the death of me

  1. i agree that changing your diet is good for you – I religously cut out gluten most sugar and dairy up until month 6/7. Even now i still stick to it 90-95% of the time – but when i do eat any of those things it no longer causes me to flare – i ate loads of choc yesterday and my skin is great today. it makes me think flares js happen its not to do with what you eat (unless you are allergic to chocolate like Joey from the forum), i think you would likely have had this flare anyway! but i understand your thinking, and it is good for health reasons to cut down – but don’t beat yourself up about it! ps alcohol def causes flares though unfortunately!! xx

    1. Hi Hannah,

      I haven’t touched gluten since September 2012! I firmly believe it has been helping me. Haven’t had too much sugar since January 2013 but I have been cutting down on misc. candy and sugary drinks since the start of this month. This is actually because I want to hit my target weight. Sorta TSW related?!

      I think everyone is different when it comes to flare ups and I do believe my triggers are dairy and chocolate. My face got super red and dry shortly after consuming dairy and chocolate. This is my second time experimenting with these two types of food and I’ve gotten a quasi flare again. However, this may be psychological!

  2. I would say eczema causing foods:

    chocolate,
    dairy (exception: goat milk sometimes),
    gluten,
    raw veggies,
    banana,
    kiwi,
    soy,
    eggs,
    peanuts,
    fish (especially lake fish),
    shellfish,
    nuts,
    celery,
    beef (especially non-organic and not fresh),
    lamb,
    red meat in general,
    corn (especially non-organic),
    mustard,
    hot spices,
    possibly also garlic, onions, potato, barley

    good food (never mix, eaten by spoon, steamed, cooked not fried nor baked):

    beans
    integral rice
    broccoli
    kale
    swiss chard
    greens
    spinach
    hemp butter
    hemp
    flax seed
    rice noodles
    fruits (should be ripe, eg. mango, papaya, pear, peach, plum, watermelon, apples, grapes, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries especially for women, etc.)
    couscous
    chicken
    turkey
    duck
    sometimes goat
    mushrooms (shiitake, oyster, portobello etc)
    cabbage
    5 spices
    cinnamon
    ginger
    butter
    olive oil
    kombucha
    green tea
    spices Provencals
    tomatos
    oregano
    basil
    Holly basil
    parsley
    red wine
    white wine
    rosemary
    avocado
    other veggies and fruits
    olives
    figs
    coconut milk
    coconut oil

    1. Hi Salemile!

      Woo that is a comprehensive list. I did eat a lot of foods on that list but if someone wants a cleanse then this would be great. Thanks for your input and sharing it here.

Leave a Reply

