Day 588 – dietary restrictions

I religiously watched my diet during the first 12 months of TSW,

During the first 1.5 months of TSW, I was terrified of the idea that food was making things worse, thus made me paranoid and I did not eat anything but greens and rice. Aside from losing some serious chub (only positive thing out of this experience), Things didn’t get any better.
Went to see an acupuncturist after the grueling month and a half and she put me on a rigorous food diet with restrictions of epic proportions. It got to a point where my friends would go, “Don’t list what you cannot eat, just tell me what you CAN eat.”

Followed her diet to the T from October-November 2012 – November 2013. Started to let loose during the beginning of 2014.
I am also happy to report that I have been slowly reincorporating certain foods back into my diet over the last 4 months. My acupuncturist also advised me to reintroduce food groups because it is unhealthy to cut out certain nutrients out for a long period of time.
Have been eating gluten, meat (chicken, beef), seafood (fish but no shellfish), and a little bit of junk food regularly since mid-March 2014. Some foods I continue to stay away from are cold, spicy foods and alcohol. Things are swell. No flares, no dry patches, and other TSW symptoms.

It is nice to be able to eat like a normal person again. Albeit, I still have to watch out for myself and not consume too much of a certain type of food. The hardest part is controlling this new found ability. An indicator of my inability to resist is the weight I have put on over the last 2 weeks…

No complaints.

2 thoughts on “Day 588 – dietary restrictions

  1. TSW made me relook at my diet at a whole new level. I’d learn so much about how food affects my flares. Similar to you, I’ve avoided all the common stuff that triggers inflammation: gluten, shellfish, tomatoes, nightshades, diary, milk. And I also indulge to remind myself of life simple pleasures! I believe diet is one significant issue that all TSW sufferers need to manage, and it seems you are doing very well with it!

    Take care!

    1. Hi Leslie,

      Thanks for the lovely comment. Diet maintenance is definitely a very important part of managing skin issues. Haven’t tried nightshades and tomatoes but will keep that in mind!

      Btw, have checked out the new forum. Good work on spreading the awareness!

Leave a Reply

