Day 783 – hater alert!

I have never in my 20+ years of existence gotten any sort of online hate mail. And look what happened two days ago?

ohwendy

I am excited about this and I have NO idea why.
Btw, the only reason I am writing a response is because there are a lot of ignorant people out there who are trying to mess with our TSW/RSS game. It’s already bad enough for people to go through this, why are you trying to put salt on our wounds? Stay strong skin warriors!

So without further ado, I am putting Wendy from the Midwest on blast.

Dear Wendy,

Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, assumptions, and beliefs. I get it. But your argument is beyond flawed. Please allow me to break it down for you…


As I read this, I just couldn’t help but think, “what a dumb ass”. Why are you itsan freaks so brain-washed that you think you know more than the docs?

Point #1: When did I ever say I knew more than doctors? Doctors are highly trained professionals with a ton of knowledge about health and disease. But I know more about MYSELF than anybody else in this world. Only I know when something is not right. And my skin was not OK at that point in time. It’s either you continue using something that doesn’t help OR find alternatives.

Point #2: Have you looked into academic articles that have been submitted by doctors and published in medical journals? Aren’t these individuals also doctors? Then why are they addressing TSW and RSS and basically acknowledging its existence? Again, I’m not saying I know more. What I’m doing is AGREEING with the medical professionals who believe that there is topical steroid dependency. You call us ‘freaks’ but you sound like an ignorant prude who only sees one side of the story. What happened to looking at the big picture — both pros and cons? There are doctors who are pro-topical corticosteroids and some doctors who aren’t thrilled about its uses. You can choose what to believe and I can too. WHO ARE YOU TO CALL US BRAINWASHED FREAKS? Does that mean I can call you a sheep for blindly following?!

Below are a few examples of academic articles written by doctors and submitted to the AMERICAN ACADEMY OF DERMATOLOGY. Can it get any more legit?!

Guin, J. D. (1981). Complications of topical hydrocortisone. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, 4 (4), 417-422. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/6453138.

Hengge, U. R., Ruzicka, T., Schwartz, R. A., Cork, M. J. (2006). Adverse effects of topical glucocorticosteroids. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, 54 (1), 1-15. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16384751.

Rapaport, M. J. & Lebwohl, M. (2003). Corticosteroid addiction and withdrawal in the atopic: The red burning skin syndrome. Clinics in Dermatology, 21 (3), 201-214. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12781438.


Your derm was 100% spot on with everything said but your own prejudice would not allow you to listen

Point #1: My derm was not 100% spot on with everything. How would you know? How would you know my skin was in the state that it was? Based on the fact that a ‘doctor’ told me so and it is automatically right? Do you know how many misdiagnosed medical cases there are each year? A doctor in the ER once misdiagnosed a family friend and gave her the wrong prescription for a medicine. She almost died from the complications. So was the doctor spot on with the treatment? NO. The point is to always get a second opinion on everything.

Point #2: Wendy says, “…your own prejudice would not allow you to listen.”
Google’s definition of prejudice? Prejudice (n): preconceived opinion that is not based on reason or actual experience.
It ain’t a biased preconceived opinion when I have ACTUAL EXPERIENCE. I was experiencing worsening side effects AFTER using topical steroids. How do I know? Because it’s MY body.


Millions and millions of people end all their suffering with topical steroids and when prescribed right, there are zero, zilch, nada, no side-effects. If you’re seeing those, you’re not on the right prescription. It’s that easy.

Wendy says, “when it is prescribed right” and “If you’re seeing those, you’re not on the right prescription.” *FACEPALM*
So if I see side effects that means the prescription is wrong. I saw side effects so the topical steroids weren’t correctly prescribed to me. WHO GIVES OUT THE PRESCRIPTION? The doctor. So who made the mistake of not giving me the right prescription? It ain’t me. It’s that simple.


TSW people are the only ones I can think of who deserve the suffering they endure because they believe one dumb broad who started a website and a doctor than 99% of all other doctors think is a quack.

POINT #1: We deserve the suffering? You sound like a sick and sad individual who has no compassion.

POINT #2: “…one dumb broad who started a website and a doctor”. Again, you haven’t done enough research! Go back to the list of academic articles. How many doctors can you count? Not just one!


When oh when will you open your eyes and see? Never I suppose.. and that’s just sad.

POINT #1: You know what is sad about your so-called argument? You went through my entire blog and read one of my longest and most detailed posts, quoted some things I said and proceeded to ‘attack’ me online. Hm. So if you’re reading my blog it means you’re either, a) going through some form of TSW/RSS, b) have someone you love going through TSW/RSS, c) a medical professional who is pro-TS, or d) doing a horrible job at trolling. You’re probably A or B. So why you mad?!

POINT #2: When one thing just isn’t working in life (like topical steroids), some individuals won’t just sit and sulk and become all depressed and sh!t. We go and do something about it. Go find alternatives if something doesn’t work. Want to lose 10lbs? Eat healthy and exercise. Topical steroids not helping? Go through withdrawals, go to a naturopath, or go seek other forms of treatment. It might not all work but I at least TRIED to make my life better.

POINT #3: Wendy says, “When oh when will you open your eyes and see?”
I was doing what I felt was best for me at the time. My female intuition (LOL). It is evident that you’re very pro-TS and it doesn’t bother me at all because you can choose to believe whatever you want. Let me just say that I realized what the issue was, took the plunge, went through some hardships and now I don’t need to rely on prescription drugs anymore because I’m 100% healthy. You or someone you know might have skin issues and you rely on prescription drugs to contain the issue. Keyword: drugs. Drugs are drugs — I don’t care how you put it and who prescribes it.

Thanks for reading,
http://www.tsweczema.wordpress.com


TL;DR Wendy from the Midwest has a flawed argument and messed up logic. Choose to believe whatever you like but don’t criticize others when you don’t have the facts to back things up.

A side note to Wendy: I ain’t no dumbass. You want to see one? Hold a mirror up to your face and look into it. Think before you write next time. Oh, and stop drinking that haterade.

There is a first for everything.

16 thoughts on “Day 783 – hater alert!

  1. Good comeback and honestly, posters like that who can’t talk nice and in an educated way? Don’t deserve the time it takes to respond because they just want to play “flame wars.” Moderated comments helps a lot. 🙂

    1. Joey! IKR? I had to respond to the absurd comments. It just kills me to think that there are people out there like that. She can be a flaming troll but I’m definitely not trying to start sh!t, rather hoping to inform and educate people.

  2. Great response! Shake them haters off. I got a terrible comment a few years ago.. a woman called me an attention whore and that posting pics of my skin was like an IBS sufferer posting pictures of shit.. Yeah.. The internet is full of nasty nasty trolls.

    1. Pinklikeabeacon!! I totally remember your blog. You started a couple days before me and posted a lot of photos during the initial stages of TSW/RSS. Glad to see you’re doing well and enjoying life again!
      And I also can’t believe someone would call you an attention whore. Yeah, I’m *totes* in it for sympathy. LOL! Seriously, why would I post pictures of myself looking like garbage? Attention whores are people who upload 2134839048 selfies on Instagram. This is called generating awareness! Some people are so cruel. -________-

  3. I don’t think I would have wasted my time to address that person. Of course steroid creams when used properly can be beneficial.

    What the writer doesn’t understand? People thought the earth was flat at one time. The writer is what I call a scab puller. Just writing without knowledge or taking the time to educate themselves. Pulling the scab to get attention and not taking the time to understand the papers written by doctors.

    I’m so thankful for itsan.org and the many papers written that corroborate the dangers of steroid creams. I’m finally turning the corner on my healing. The difference between the writer and me is that I would not wish this on my worst enemy.

    I actually feel sorry for the writer because they sound like they are very unhappy in life. The comment is more of a personal vendetta that anything that is practical.

    1. I actually timed myself and it didn’t take me more than 45 minutes! I guess I can say writing is an outlet for me. I responded because I’m not the type of person to sit back and let someone flame me when I didn’t instigate anything. Let alone her ridiculous and absurd justification of using topical corticosteroids! Thanks for leaving a comment!

  4. Good for you!! The whole point of us blogging is to spread awareness to people, especially these kind. Hopefully this Wendy never has to endure what we have because she will be alone without us “itsan freaks” to support her!! How infuriating.

    1. Thank you, Karina! You hit the nail on the head. The reason I still keep this blog active (even though I’m basically healed) is because I want to educate and inform others. Generate awareness of the dangers of too TS usage. I’m not trying to convert people to stay away from TS but telling people sh!t can happen when you use too much of it.
      Thank you for your support!

Leave a Reply

