48 months – 4 years

It’s 6:30am on a Friday morning. The sky is still dark and I’m sitting here typing away and reminiscing about the last 4 years and how I’ve dealt with one of the biggest struggles of my life: topical steroid withdrawal and/or red skin syndrome.

This year didn’t take a reminder. Maybe it’s been a busy work week, maybe it’s my internal clock telling me it’s that time of the year again, or maybe it’s so ingrained in my memory I now treat this as a second birthday. Like tradition, every year on the 16th of September (or as close as I can get), I log onto this blog and write an anniversary post.

2012 – Day X
2013 – Year 1
2014 – Year 2
2015 – Year 3

I don’t have the bandwidth to compile a bunch of photos this year. Perhaps I will save it for my 5 year anniversary? But what I did was read every single anniversary post I made over the last 4 years and it’s amazing to think about the changes since 2012. Life milestones such as graduating college, experiencing my first big move across the country, scoring my first job out of school, and etc. I’m talking about the physical, mental, and spiritual changes.

It’s crazy to think 4 years have come and gone. Many of the blogs I followed since day 1 have now been abandoned. It’s understandable, though. Because people gradually move on with their lives over time and more importantly, who wants to keep revisiting a chapter of their lives that most of us wish never happened?

For me, this isn’t about not being able to let go. I fully understand that TSW/RSS is never going to fully go away and the name of the game is all about managing my lifestyle to control the beast. TSW/RSS has more or less become a part of my life. This blog has shaped the person I am today and has taught me to be optimistic, to keep collecting experiences, and living for those special moments in life.

I’m forever indebted to the few who have physically stood by me over the last few years. And, of course, thank you to those who have supported this blog by reading my monthly updates over the last few. I don’t plan on abandoning something that has served as a positive outlet for me… and possibly for others? With that being said, the next update will be on October 16, 2016.

It’s 7:30am. The sun is out.

Let’s kickass today.

Leave a Reply

